Religion of love, please.

I give thanks and bless my food before a meal.

Strangers asked ” Which church do you go to?”

My parents asked “Since when you became a Christian.”

I ordered fishball soup and requested ” No mince pork please”

Stall owner asked “Are you Chinese Muslim? We are not halal.”

I ordered an egg tart recently.

Regular stall owner said ” Notice you eat little meat, are you Buddhist?”

I said “No, no particular religion”

She asked “Would you like to have a religion?”

I replied ” No thank you” 

(In my mind, I thought… Yeah maybe Religion of Love”
Somewhat that brought me to my current read “Forty rules of Love”.

And I resonate with this quote.

“Not Christian or Jew or Muslim, not Hindu, Buddhist, Sufi or zen. Not any religion or cultural system. I am not of the East, nor of the West.…

My place is placeless, a trace of the traceless.”

Excerpt From: Shafak, Elif. “The Forty Rules of Love: A Novel of Rumi.” Viking Adult, 2010-02-18T00:00:00+00:00. iBooks. 

This material may be protected by copyright.

:)

